Happy Birthday Mom!

Me: Ugh!!! I hate you! I don’t know why God made mothers!!

Mom: Mostly to clean the house.

My mother and I never had the best of relationships. I had a daily target to achieve of annoying her and she had a daily word limit she had to reach.

Me: Daaaaaad! Where did you find this woman?

Dad: She was shoplifting and got caught. It was pity. Pity at first sight.

But the thing is, as I grow older, I realize how much she means to me. The cuddles and kisses and love she showered on me when I was younger really went to waste. I hated her. I even told her that once. I am ashamed I did. Today, I wouldn’t have wanted anyone else. My mom was my first true love and it continues on today.

We’ve had our share of tiffs. But there was always juice and sandwiches ready when we came home. No matter how late it was, ma would always wake up to get dinner for me, albeit complaining about my drunkenness. She would make flasks and flasks of coffee to help me stay awake at night studying for exams and disturb her sleep to check on me.

She hated that I smoked, but would allow me to do it anyway. She worried about me when I became rebellious, but knew that I wouldn’t go too far because she had built a strong base in me. She allowed me to discover myself, my untamed spirit, the awesomeness of alone time and the joy of pulling my sister’s hair out.

She made me hate myself for not being who she wanted me to be but then love myself for not conforming.

And today 25 years later, she is my role model, my stability, my companion and my best friend. She is my safe place, the one that makes me feel special, the one who believes in my dreams.

People think I hate children which is why I don’t want to have any, the truth is, I don’t think I can ever be a mom. My mother has set the bar so high, I know I’ll fail. I know no one, not even I, will ever be as awesome as she is.

Ma, as you turn (don’t worry I wont disclose your age), I wish to be like you. 25 years from now, if I am half the woman you are, I will know I have come close.

So here’s to the only woman in my life! Let’s see a hundred more years to come! I love you Ma!

And for those of you who wonder “What are Mothers made of?” Let God be the one to tell you….

GOD answered……

“When I made woman,
I decided she had to be special.
I made her shoulders
strong enough to carry
the weight of the world, yet,
made her arms gentle enough to give comfort…

I gave her the inner strength
to endure childbirth
and the rejection
that many times will come
even from her own children.

I gave her a hardness
that allows her
to keep going and take care
of her family and friends,
even when everyone else gives up, through sickness and fatigue without
complaining….

I gave her the sensitivity to love her children under any and all
circumstances. Even when her child has hurt her badly….

She has the very special power to make a child’s boo-boo feel better and
to quell a teenager’s anxieties and fears….

I gave her strength to care for her husband, despite faults
and I fashioned her from his rib to protect his heart….

I gave her wisdom to know that a good husband never hurts his wife, but
sometimes tests her strengths and her resolve to stand beside him
unfalteringly….

For all of this hard work,
I also gave her a tear to shed.
It is hers to use
whenever needed and !
it is her only weakness….
When you see her cry,
tell her how much you love her, and all she does for everyone, and even though
she may still cry, you will have made her heart feel good.

She is special!

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Mom!

  1. Hi,
    Just came across your blog while surfing. I liked the post on mothers. Really, thats just so true!! I guess every girl goes through that phase, where you dont get along well and later you realise that she is your actual strength!
    I used to look at my older cousins who were so close to their mothers and always felt how can you be so attached…growing up I realised, that as you turn into a woman, you understand her better and co-relate with each other as women..and then you just realise what a blessing she is to have.
    Thanks for making me love mine even more!! 😀

    Cheers to all the Moms!!
    Deepti

Leave a Reply

