Detoxification of Twitter is #fail

Recently, if not later, a bunch of people on Twitter went on ‘detox’. Apparently, to spend some time in the ‘real’ world. 15-30 days later, they were back again.

I don’t really understand their motives and I won’t question them, I mean, whatever works for them is definitely not my business. But somehow I felt I needed to write stuff down of my own experience with social media platforms. I’ll stick to Twitter for this particular post.

I’ve been on Twitter for a long time now and 30,084 tweets later (and counting) I have no regrets. My experience has been just that, an experience. It has had its ups and downs but no bad experiences. When you learn something, regardless of circumstance it need now always be a bad thing, right?

Anyhow, moving on. Isn’t ‘detox’ for addicts? Essentially, detox or detoxification means ‘the process, real or perceived, of removing toxins from the body.’ (Ref: Wikipedia). And I don’t consider Twitter a toxin. It sometimes actually helps me get through the day. It had helped me connect and meet new people; it even helped me get the current job I’m at. Twitter maybe an addiction, but it isn’t toxic and you won’t die if you don’t tweet, unlike drugs.

So I read most of the posts written by them, after they had returned back to the Twittosphere. While i agree with most of their points and a few of the others in the comments, here’s something I noticed:

Not one of them admitted to the fact that there are people who are honest and don’t wear masks online. I mean if you are honest about the way you are on social media platforms, people who get to know you through these platforms offline wouldn’t see any other side to you because, there isn’t one.


While that situation would be ideal for everyone, the world isn’t filled with these kinds of people. And you really can’t blame them for expecting the same from anybody else. Masks aren’t in their nature. And sometimes they are too naive to see through anybody else.

Just as one of the people in the comments section of one post said; friends can’t be classified into offline / online friends because that just doesn’t make sense. And you really can’t call them ‘friends’ can you?

I think classification ruins the core point of these platforms. Also friendships like any other relationship or emotion can come and go. They can be inconsistent and faulty and no one will hold anyone to that. You can not however assume that people are your best friends or you think that a ‘person’ thinks you are their best friend. There was this one ‘person’ on Twitter who though she was ‘my’ best friend. While I enjoyed confiding in her because she gave me pratical advise and I enjoyed hanging out with her she wasn’t MY bestfriend. She was someone I got along with and could connect with easily. That friendship fell apart and that’s fine by me, I wasn’t pretending there and genuinely behaved the way I would ordinarily. Also when we started talking and meeting offline, it didn’t matter that we met ‘online.’ Unfortunately, I was still an ‘online’ friend to her and like I mentioned earlier ‘too naïve to know the difference.’

These experiences shouldn’t affect, it’s a learning curve that we all get used to and just because that friendship fell flat it doesn’t mean we shouldn’t trust or make friends online again.

It’s funny because these are the same set of people who connect with others on the platform and if they can ‘assist’ or help you in any way they become friends who are ‘so amazing’ or they get hashtagged as ‘god’.

Queer behavior, to say the least.

3 thoughts on “Detoxification of Twitter is #fail

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Detoxification of Twitter is #fail « Adventures of a polka dot -- Topsy.com

  2. i totally agree with your post. i think i was following atleast half the people who went on “twitter detox”, and a week (or whatever) later when they came back online and resumed tweeting, i realized my timeline was a better place without them.

    from what i can tell, they didn’t achieve anything with their “detox”. i’m not sure if they even intended to. but it looks to me like they just did it as some form of twisted affirmation of their little clique.

    that’s what i noticed i hated. like the whole group affirmation of the “god” dude.

    no wonder i unfollowed them.

  3. Classifying “friends” based on where you met them is really a weird thing to do. Are people you meet in “real” life at Parties classified as “Party” friends? I don’t think so.

    The detox was again, a really weird thing. The funny part was that when they came back, they talked about it as if it was the greatest thing they ever did. I merely saw it as an attention seeking exercise.

    Did I say that I unfollowed them?

Leave a Reply

