Maybe it’s me.

I woke up this morning and watched the sun rise through your eyes. I watched as the birds filled your eyes with melody and the earth moved from dark into light. I woke up this morning and watched the shadows move away from my face; I watched as your glow illuminated my heart and the voice is my head, depart.

But then afternoon came and we lay motionless, In a world conflicted with war and beauty, grace and ungratefulness. I told you of my dreams and wishes; my fears and my nightmares. I told you how much you meant to me and how we were alike and who I wanted to be.

As dusk approached and darkness covered your face, I sang you a song about love. The shadows crept into our hearts but your face dispelled them, I had never seen such peace until you. I clung to you for support, for warmth. You never let go.

As we fell asleep I watched the moonlight serenade your face. I watched the shadows from outside draw sheets of music on my walls. And the earth moved from dusk to night, as we fell asleep and the shadows dawned on your face; I knew your cold body would keep warm another night. Like it had done the night before and the night before that.

The knife intact. Maybe it’s me.

You can’t fix me

One thought on “Maybe it’s me.

Leave a Reply

